Front Page  Archives Search

Board schedules public meetings on school closing plan
(Published May 29, 2006)

The D.C. Board of Education has scheduled a series of community meetings June 5-17 to solicit public comment on Superintendent Clifford Janey's recommendations for closing or consolidating some schools and leasing space in others.

The board plans to vote June 28 on the superintendent's plan, which, if approved, would be-come effective before the start of the next school year in September. The board gave preliminary approval to the plan May 17.

The superintendent has proposed closing Fletcher-Johnson and Merritt educational centers, as well as Shadd, Wheatley, M.C. Terrell, Van Ness and Walker-Jones elementary schools.

Janey also proposed combining Adams and Oyster elementary schools and leasing space at Bunker Hill Elementary, Eliot Junior High, Evans Middle School, Harrison Elementary, the old Miner Elementary, Sharpe Health Annex, Rudolph Elementary and Montgomery Elementary.

The following community meetings will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. to focus on plans for the school at which the meeting wil be held:

•June 5 at Fletcher-Johnson, 4650 Benning Road SE.

•June 6 at Merritt, 5002 Hayes St. NE.

•June 9 at M.C. Terrell, 3301 Wheeler Road SE.

•June 12 at Shadd/Wheatley, 5601 East Capitol St. SE.

•June 13 at Adams/Oyster, 2020 19th St. NW.

•June 16 at Van Ness, 1150 Fifth St. SE.

The board will hold a meeting to discuss the proposed closing of Walker-Jones Elementary from 10 a.m. to noon June 17 at Terrell Junior High School, 100 Pierce St. NW.

Leasing/co-location plans will be discussed from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. June 10 in the Fifth Floor Board Room at school headquarters, 825 North Capitol St. NE.

Copyright 2006 The Common Denominator