front page - search - community 

DCIAA season finale

Dunbar, Roosevelt, Anacostia coaches honored by peers;

players selected to East/West division All Star teams

(Published November 19, 2001)

As the Dunbar Senior High School Crimson Tide prepared to defend their citywide football title against the Woodson Senior High Warriors in this year’s Thanksgiving Day Turkey Bowl contest, varsity football coaches announced their choices for the 2001 season’s DCIAA East and West division All-League teams.

Dunbar Head Coach Craig Jeffries, taking his team to the city championship game for the fourth consecutive year, was named Co-Coach of the Year for the D.C. Interscholastic Athletic Association West Division, along with Roosevelt Senior High Head Coach Darryl Tilghman.

Anacostia Senior High’s Willie Stewart was named Coach of the Year in the DCIAA East Division.

The Crimson Tide dominated the West All Stars, with 12 players selected to the All-League team.

H.D. Woodson will try to derail Dunbar’s attempt to repeat as city football champions when the Turkey Bowl kicks off at 11 a.m. Nov. 22 at Eastern Senior High School’s football stadium at East Capitol and 17th Streets NE.

A total of 55 players were selected for the All-League teams in voting Nov. 14 by DCIAA football coaches.


ANACOSTIA: Along with the Indians’ head coach winning top honors for his performance, coaches also singled out five of Stewart’s players as all stars. Named were nose tackle Derrick Ivory, outside backer Ernest Hart and defensive back Charles Reid on defense. On offense, coaches selected tight end William Jackson and wide receiver Sean Napper.

BALLOU: Seven Knights earned spots on the All-League squad. On defense, coaches selected left end James Chance, left tackle Wayne Taylor, inside backer Marcus Jackson and defensive back Tyrone Williams. On offense, left tackle Julius Allen, quarterback Lincoln Shanklon and wide receiver Darryl Morrow made the team.

EASTERN: Ramblers right end Josh Morgan and defensive back Tyrone White were honored on defense, while wide receiver Domonique Saunders and kick returner Tarik Bundy were named on offense.

SPINGARN: Green Waves nose guard Matthew Queen and outside backer Maurice Yangay made the defensive squad, while center Manuel Yeager was selected on offense.

WOODSON: The division-champion Warriors placed eight players in nine spots on the All-League team. Darrell Minor received double honors, being named an all-star right tackle and punter. Also named on defense was defensive back Terick Thomas. On offense, coaches selected left guard Ronald Wood, right guard Randy Robinson, right tackle Traveon Smith, running backs Richard Fitzhugh and Dajaun Stover and kicker Steve McCalla.


CARDOZO: Clerks defensive back Martell Simms was named to the All-League team.

COOLIDGE: Five Colts were named to the team. Left tackle Toney Nipper, outside backer Jarrett Burgess and punter Carl Stanley made the defensive team, while right tackle Jason Allen and quarterback Antonio Pixley were named on offense.

DUNBAR: Nose guard Dominique Williams, right tackle Larry Brown, right end Stanley Pope, inside backer Eric Ruth and defensive backs Ashley Morrow and Luke Cain made the defense, while left guard Saddi Williams, center Domonique Blackwell, right guard Chris Gates, tight end Vernon Davis, running back Charles Lowe and wide receiver Marcel Ward were selected on offense.

ROOSEVELT: The Rough Riders placed outside backer Thamar Davis and punt returner Charlie Webb on defense and wide receiver Anthony Maddox and kick returner Kevin Scott on offense.

WILSON: Six Tigers were named to the All-League team. Named on defense were left end Tahir Toney, outside backer Trulon Henry and defensive back Derrick McCall. On offense, coaches selected left tackle Josh Major, running back John Boyd and kicker Richard N’Duba.

Copyright 2001, The Common Denominator